Home Religion Religion can’t divide Nigeria – Lai Mohammed

Religion can’t divide Nigeria – Lai Mohammed


(L-R) Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information and Culture; Rt. Rev. Humphrey Olumakaiye, Anglican Bishop of Lagos Diocese, and Rt. Rev. Adebola Ademowo, former Bishop of Lagos Diocese at the 2019 Centenary Cultural Day and Award of the diocese.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, on Saturday, expressed confidence that it would be impossible for anybody to use religion to divide Nigeria.

The minister expressed the confidence in Lagos at the Anglican Diocese of Lagos 2019 Centenary Cultural Day and Award Ceremony.

The centenary celebration had the theme: ”Stronger, Deeper and Higher”.

According to Mohammed, performances at the event by different ethnic groups in the diocese are indications that the unity of Nigeria is not negotiable.

“What I have seen here today has again confirmed my belief in the indivisibility of this country.

”These performances have shown us how much we are united, as opposed to how much we are divided.

“I want to thank the diocese for making me appreciate the fact the church is playing a very big role in uniting the nation.

“It is impossible for anybody under the aegis of religion to divide this country,” he said.

He said that the celebration showed how Nigerians loved one another.

The Wife of Lagos State Governor, Mrs Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, said at the event that the church should be committed to sound teachings of the word of God and strictly adhere to God’s commandments.

She said that 100 years in the life of any organisation was not a small feat but called for celebration.

According to her, the diocese has been serving as a veritable platform to impact lives through sound teachings of God’s word and contributing to the growth and development of Lagos State and Nigeria in general.

Sanwo-Olu commended the church for using the centenary celebration to conceive an initiative to address housing deficit in Lagos through the planned Centenary City project on the Lekki-Ibeju-Epe axis.

In his opening remark, the Bishop of the diocese, Rt. Rev. Humphrey Olumakaiye, expressed gratitude to God for the celebration.

He said that the event was to showcase the glory of God who made the diocese stronger, deeper and higher.

Olumakaiye said that the event emphasised international peace and security, tolerance, respect and understanding.

“Despite having people of different cultures, we are undivided in our worship of God.

”Today, we celebrate cultural day as part of the centenary anniversary celebration.

”Through culture, we are represented by standards and customs.

”We have all come together to declare that we can give to the world the needed sustainable development through a united effort targeted at peaceful coexistence,” he said.

Olumakaiye said that the church should sustain the culture of peace and integrity, culture of brotherly love and sanctity of life.

He said that these were the best ways to show that the church remained united in Christ.

Ven. Samuel Uhie, Chairman, Centenary Cultural Committee, in his welcome address, noted that culture defined a man and his identity.

”The attainment of 100 years by the Diocese of Lagos was possible through the contributions of different nationalities; thus, making Lagos become a microcosm of Nigeria.

”These nationalities were united in the Diocese of Lagos by common denominator – belief in the work of Christ within the doctoral persuasion of the Anglican Church,” he said.

Uhie said that while culture were the ideas, customs and attitudes of a particular people, tradition was the transmission of the customs and beliefs from one generation to another.

Various archdeaconries in the diocese presented different cultural displays and culinary from Uhrobo, Benin, Itsekiri, Igbira, Ekiti, Egba, Edoma, Awori/Egun, Brazilian, Calabar, Akwa/Ibom, Ijebu, Isoko, Ijaw, Ikale and Ilaje, among others.

Some members of the diocese were given awards for their commitment to its growth.

They include Princess Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, Mr John Momoh, Chief Olabode Goerge, Dr Toyin Okeowo, Mr Kunle Adebayo, Mrs Yinka Adebayo and Ven. Olumuyiwa Oyewole.

The others are Dr Ebi Omatsola, Sir Paul Okafor, Mrs Ifeoma Okafor, Mr Gbolade Osibodu, Mrs Funke Osibodu, Oba Michael Onakoya, and Pa Samuel Olowoselu.


  1. Log out?
    Log out?
    Melaye crushed in Kogi West rerun, Senate seat gone
    Senator Dino Melaye: no comeback in Kogi West rerun
    Richard Elesho/ Lokoja
    There appears to be no redemption, no comeback for Senator Dino Melaye in Kogi West district rerun as he has been electorally spanked by his opponent, Senator Smart Adeyemi.
    The opponent that Melaye once characterised as his ‘political wife’ continued with his winning momentum as many results from the 53 polling units streamed in.
    PDP won only in 2 units, while Adeyemi won in 24, out of the units, where results were declared.
    Melaye, however, in a tweet, described the results as ‘magic figures’, claiming that he has been the preferred candidate of voters.
    Here are some of the unofficial results from the 53 polling units:
    Unguwan Pawa Polling Unit 005 Ward “D” lokoja.
    Apc – 229
    PDP – 100
    Ward D Results Lokoja
    Rimi polling unit
    APC 224
    PDP 177
    Anguwan Kura polling unit
    APC 349
    PDP 86
    Inuwa Dagana polling unit
    APC 229
    PDP 100
    Inuwa Lange polling unit
    APC 446
    PDP 79
    Madabo polling unit
    APC 432
    PDP 86
    Yaragi polling unit
    APC 143
    PDP 67.
    Obatedo ward 02 Oke Egbe-
    APC 165
    PDP 22
    Egbeda Egga/Okedayo ward. Okedayo quarters ogidi open space .
    APC 120
    PDP 15.
    Mopamuro LGA Ward 08
    No of accredited 231
    Apc 224
    PDP 05
    DPC 01
    Rejected 01
    Itedo Irunda unit 007, Ward 09
    PDP 23
    APC 322
    Egbeda Egga/Okedayo ward. Okedayo quarters ogidi open space .
    APC 120
    PDP 15.
    Odolu Ward… *Fehinti Oluwa Qtrs Unit 005.*
    1. APC – 330
    2. PDP – 04
    3. Void – 2
    Odolu Ward… *St Andrew School Unit 002.*
    1. APC – 225
    2. PDP – 47
    3. ADC – 1
    4. Void – 5
    Odolu Ward… *Sanco Unit 003.*
    1. APC – 171
    2. PDP – 27
    3. Void – 3
    St Barnabas
    APC 231
    PDP 50
    Void 12
    APC 109
    PDP 73
    PDP 26
    APC 72
    PDP 98
    APC 48
    PDP 66
    APC 93
    PDP 55
    APC 78
    PDP. 56
    APC 41
    PDP 35
    APC 56
    Oke Adeye
    PDP 77
    APC 56
    PDP. 53
    APC: 133
    Total Result
    PDP. 203
    APC 284
    November 30, 2019 at 5:23 pm
    This is really interesting
    November 30, 2019 at 5:24 pm
    That’s interesting. Hope Adeyemi will give his constituents quality representation.
    November 30, 2019 at 6:03 pm
    This interi
    November 30, 2019 at 6:28 pm
    November 30, 2019 at 7:12 pm
    Logged in as SHAKSMAN.
    Leave a Reply
    Logged in as SHAKSMAN.
    Post Comment

Comments are closed.